Gilgit is the capital city of Gilgit–Baltistan. It is the fifth but non-constitutional administrative province of Pakistan. The GB, formerly known as Northern Areas, consist of seven districts, namely Gilgit, Skardu, Diamer, Ghizer, Astore, Ghanche and Hunza-Nagar. There are five language spoken in this region named as Shina, Brushaski,khowar,baltii and wakhii.The Major and most dominating tribe of Gilgit-Baltistan is 'Shin' while Shina is the language spoken by majority of the population from Ghizer of GB to Kohistan of KPK province. Gilgit City forms a tehsil of Gilgit, within Gilgit District. Its ancient name was Sargin, later to be known as Gilit, and it is still called Gilit or Sargin-Gilit by local people. In the Burushaski language, it is named Geelt and in Wakhi and Khowar it is called GiltGhallata is considered its name in ancient Sanskrit literature. Gilgit City is one of the two major hubs in Gilgit Baltistan for mountaineering expeditions to theKarakoram, Hindukash and other the peaks in the Himalayas, the other hub being Skardu.

Taj Communication Gilgit (03443449442447-03129442447)